Pull-Up Challenge

The Day Before We Begin

Ok so here we are Challenge Number 2 – the pull-up challenge.

Ever since I did Tough Mudder two years ago I have wanted to be able to do a pull-up. During that race I had to have so many muscly men help me over walls obstacles because I didn’t have the arm strength. As much fun as it was having the help of these burly men I was annoyed I couldn’t do it. So after working with my trainer Mike Peake for a year and smashing every challenge we have put in front of us, we decided that the next one is to be able to do a pull-up. However, because of my big holiday coming up this challenge will not be 6 weeks, in fact it will be just under 4 weeks…this is going to be tough.

I’m going to start by being honest, I’m not starting out completely from scratch. Mike and I have been working on my upper body strength for a year now but not focused on pull-ups. However, resistance band assisted pull-ups have been in my program for the last couple of months. I will share a video in the Day 1 post that will show you where I am starting at.

To give you a little more about the plan for the next few weeks, here is what Mike had to say:

“The goal of the current program is to increase relative strength across your entire body with emphasis on your chin ups – so lots of assisted chin ups and Latpulldowns to build the strength of your lats (latissimus dorsi)  and Biceps will get a lot of work”.

For the next 4 weeks I will also be attempting to keep up my low calorie diet that I was doing for my last 6 week challenge. Mike says that continuing the weight loss will hopefully mean:

“As you lose a little more weight our relative strength (strength to weight ratio) will continue to increase, you will likely build a little muscle and lose fat leading to a leaner, firmer and stronger version of you!”

So just for reference here is my current weight.

  • Weight – 142lbs
  • Waist – 28 inches
  • Hips – 38.5 inches
  • Thighs – 22.8 inches
  • Top of arms – 10.5 inches

Unlike the last post I will not be posting everyday instead I will only post the days I am working out and I will keep you updated every week with my progress.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

